2019 Reading Goals

Hey guys. I know this is a bit late, but today I am bringing you my 2019 Reading Goals. I don’t have many this year, but I really hope I can complete the ones I do have.
Continue reading “2019 Reading Goals”
Advertisements

Review: The Twisted Tree by Rachel Burge

The Twisted Tree

The Twisted Tree by Rachel Burge
Genre: Fantasy, Mythology
Published by: Hot Key Books
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback
Release date: 10/01/19
Rating: ★★★★★
Summary: Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller – this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver.

Martha can tell things about a person just by touching their clothes, as if their emotions and memories have been absorbed into the material. It started the day she fell from the tree at her grandma’s cabin and became blind in one eye.

Determined to understand her strange ability, Martha sets off to visit her grandmother, Mormor – only to discover Mormor is dead, a peculiar boy is in her cabin and a terrifying creature is on the loose.

Then the spinning wheel starts creaking, books move around and terror creeps in . . .

Set in the remote snows of contemporary Norway, THE TWISTED TREE is a ghost story that twists and turns – and never takes you quite where you’d expect.

Continue reading “Review: The Twisted Tree by Rachel Burge”

Review: Soulmates by Holly Bourne

SoulmatesSoulmates by Holly Bourne
Genre: Contemporary
Published by: Usborne
Pages: 544
Format: Paperback
Release date: 01/09/13
Rating: ★★☆☆☆
Summary: Every so often, two people are born who are the perfect matches for each other. Soulmates. But while the odds of this happening are about as likely as being struck by lightning, when these people do meet and fall in love…thunderstorms, lightning strikes and lashings of rain are only the beginning of their problems.

Enter Poppy, the 17-year-old cynic with a serious addiction to banana milk, and Noah, the heart-throb guitarist; residents of mediocre Middletown, sometime students, and…soulmates.

After a chance meeting at a local band night, Poppy and Noah find themselves swept up in a whirlwind romance unlike anything they’ve ever experienced before. But with a secret international agency preparing to separate them, a trail of destruction rumbling in their wake, (and a looming psychology coursework deadline), they are left with an impossible choice between the end of the world, or a life without love…

Continue reading “Review: Soulmates by Holly Bourne”

WWW Wednesday – 17/10/18

Hey guys. Welcome to another WWW Wednesday post. WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words. All you have to do is answer these three questions: 1) What are you currently reading? 2) What did you recently finish reading? 3) What do you think you’ll read next?

Continue reading “WWW Wednesday – 17/10/18”

Review: Life’s a Beach by Chloe Coles

Life's a Beach (Bookshop Girl # 2)Life’s a Beach by Chloe Coles
Series: Bookshop Girl Book 2
Genre: Contemporary
Published by: Hot Key Books
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback
Release date: 20/09/18
Rating: ★★★★☆
Summary: Holly and Paige are at a literary festival in Skegton-On-Sea. They’ve been looking forward to it for ages. It’s one of the biggest book festivals around – and there’s a pop up bookshop tent and a lot of Big Shot Writers. It’s basically like they’re being PAID to go on a BFF HOLIDAY and SELL A FEW BOOKS! They had to beg their grumpy boss Tony to put their names forward. He ummed and ahhed and said he wasn’t sure it was a good idea. But they’re here at last and it’s brilliant.

Well, kind of. It’s true that there’s a diva of an author called Minnie, who dresses head to toe in pink, and insists that Paige picks fresh flowers for her signing table every day, even though it’s raining. But along the way, Paige begins to find that there’s quite a lot to learn from Minnie – not least, how to reach out for the things she wants . . . and the boy she likes.

Written by debut author and bookseller Chloe Coles, this is the second in a new teen series that will make you want to rush out and take shelter in your nearest bookshop!

Continue reading “Review: Life’s a Beach by Chloe Coles”